The Ten Commandments

The First Commandment I am the LORD your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of bondage. You shall have no other gods before me.

The Second Commandment You shall not make for yourself a graven image, or any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth; you shall not bow down to them or serve them. You shall love your neighbor as yourself (in other words, be as selfish for your neighbor as you are for yourself.)

The Third Commandment You shall not invoke the name of the Lord, your God, in vain.

The Fourth Commandment Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy. Six days you shall labor, and do all your work; but the seventh day is a Sabbath to the Lord your God; in it you shall not do any work.

The Fifth Commandment Honor your father and your mother, that your days may be long in the land which the Lord your God gives you.

The Sixth Commandment You shall not kill.

The Seventh Commandment You shall not commit adultery.

The Eighth Commandment You shall not steal.

The Ninth Commandment You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.

The Tenth Commandment You shall not covet . . . anything that is your neighbor’s. . . . You shall not desire your neighbor’s house, his field, or his manservant, or his maidservant, or his ox, or his ass, or anything that is your neighbor’s.


The Ten Commandments – Sources
New American BibleSince the original text of the Old Testament does not number the commandments as we do, the commandments are numbered differently by Catholics, Protestants and Jews. However, they are all contained in the following chapters, the Word of God, the original source.Exodus 20Deuteronomy 5
Catholic CatechismThe following references are to the Catholic Catechism at the Vatican web site giving information and insight about each of the commandments.        first, 2084-141
        second, 2142-67
        third, 2168-95
        fourth, 2197-257
        fifth, 2258-330
        sixth, 2331-400
        seventh, 2401-63
        eighth, 2464-513
        ninth, 2514-33
        tenth, 2534-57